NobleDhamma is Dhamma learning forum. We are trying to learn Sakyamuni Gautama the Buddha's Noble Teachings based on Tipitaka. We Invite you all for join with us and lets take a step to realize NobleDhamma as soon as we possible.
HomeHome  CalendarCalendar  GalleryGallery  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  MemberlistMemberlist  UsergroupsUsergroups  RegisterRegister  Log in  
We have 49 registered users
The newest registered user is anfram

Our users have posted a total of 1233 messages in 52 subjects
Top posters
~ DhFriend ~
Who is online?
In total there is 1 user online :: 0 Registered, 0 Hidden and 1 Guest


Most users ever online was 15 on Sun Oct 03, 2010 9:51 am

Share | 

 The Five Hindrances (pańcanivarana).

Go down 

PostSubject: The Five Hindrances (pańcanivarana).   Thu Jun 23, 2011 3:14 pm

I would like to know more about the five hindrances (pańcanivarana).
Back to top Go down
View user profile

PostSubject: The Five Hindrances (pańcanivarana)   Fri Jun 24, 2011 1:23 pm

The Five Hindrances (pańcanivarana)are,

sensual desire, (kamachanda)
ill will, (wyapada)
sloth and torpor, (thina-middha)
restlessness and worry, (uddacca-kukkucca)

The five hindrances (pańcanivarana) are sensual desire, ill will, sloth and torpor, restlessness and worry, and doubt. This group, the principal classification the Buddha uses for the obstacles to meditation, receives its name because its five members hinder and envelop the mind, preventing meditative development in the two spheres of serenity and insight. Hence the Buddha calls them "obstructions, hindrances, corruptions of the mind which weaken wisdom".
The hindrance of sensual desire (kamachanda) is explained as desire for the "five strands of sense pleasure," that is, for pleasant forms, sounds, smells, tastes and tangibles. It ranges from subtle liking to powerful lust. The hindrance of ill will (byapada) signifies aversion directed towards disagreeable persons or things. It can vary in range from mild annoyance to overpowering hatred. Thus the first two hindrances correspond to the first two root defilements, greed and hate. The third root defilement, delusion, is not enumerated separately among the hindrances but can be found underlying the remaining three.
Sloth and torpor is a compound hindrance made up of two components: sloth (thina), which is dullness, inertia or mental stiffness; and torpor (middha), which is indolence or drowsiness. Restlessness and worry is another double hindrance, restlessness (uddhacca) being explained as excitement, agitation or disquietude, worry (kukkucca) as the sense of guilt aroused by moral transgressions. Finally, the hindrance of doubt (vicikiccha) is explained as uncertainty with regard to the Buddha, the Dhamma, the Sangha and the training.


Back to top Go down
View user profile
The Five Hindrances (pańcanivarana).
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
.::: NobleDhamma :::. :: NobleDhamma Discussions - ආර්ය ධර්මය සාකච්ඡා :: General Discussions - සාමාන්‍ය සාකච්ඡා-
Jump to: